Friday Free Board Quiz Update


Image

Last Friday the Quiz winner was Mateusz Klatecki . Short after the winner announcement there was brief discussion on twitter:

Anthony.H @embedded_geek @Olimex I hate http://random.org:(

Anthony.H @embedded_geek @Olimex @mklatecki Actually the guy deserves the loot… his twitter account is full (only) of Olimex answer!!!

Chad Sarles @wsarles @Olimex Yes, but I was the first. Everyone else copied my answer. That deserves a sticker, at least. :)

Nacho García @iggarpe @Olimex @embedded_geek Actually it’s http://random.org that hates you. And me, BTW. :)

So seems this PINGUINO board was wanted very much by some people who had no luck last Friday. I was surprised though when I got this letter from the winner next day after the Quiz:

Hello,

Yesterday I won your quiz on Twitter. Very glad to win, but because the PIC family of microcontrollers are not really in my interests (pity to lay on a shelf and covered with dust) , I decided to give my prize to the pot of next contest. You can ask 2 questions or select 2 winners on 1 question, as you want.
I will continue to take part in your quiz because it’s fun and a good way to test my knowledge, and when in pot will be something what I can use in my projects I will receive the award :)

best regards
Mateusz Klatecki

So Mateusz had luck last Friday but he is not obviously PIC fan and decided to give away his prize to somebody who really need it and can do something useful with it. I appreciate his will and I will ask only people who participated the quiz last Friday and have really use of PIC32-PINGUINO to respond to the Twitter message I will do now, so I ask again Random.org at 17.00 o’clock our time to see who will be the new lucky winner.

Good Luck!

P.S. As I see that many people participate the Quiz just to check if they can answer the question and check their skills I do wonder if it is good idea to run “Over-the-weekend programming challange”. The idea is to post challenge problem in Friday, which to be coded in any language over the weekend and in Monday to post the solutions and rise winner with the most elegant solution. No prizes just fame and the satisfaction that you won the challenge. What do you think about this?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Johannes
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 13:48:37

    Dear “Olimex”,
    i follow your Twitter-Quiz – as many other(?) – to check my skills and sometimes to have a chance to get the prize if it match my interests… if not, i didn’t twitter to give other people a better chance :-)

    Years ago i try my luck in 48h-Challenges and it was a great fun! So why not give it a try and see what comes?

    Greetings
    Johannes

    Reply

  2. hli
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 18:23:27

    Shall we reply here in this thread or on Twitter (as I already did this morning?)

    Reply

  3. Emilo
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 16:52:19

    +1 on the programming challenges :)

    Reply

  4. Trackback: WEEKEND PROGRAMMING CHALLENGE | olimex
  5. Trackback: Aaaahhh Copycats – Weekend Programming Challenge has been copied by Circuit Cellar and IAR Systems | olimex

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers

