Debugging iMX233-OLinuXino with OpenOCD and SJTAG Tutorial


Image

Christian Jann posted wonderful tutorial how to setup OpenOCD and SJTAG to debug iMX233-OLinuXino.

Reading the post I see Christian had no SJTAG and borrowed one from a company, we are going definitely fix this and next week will send him one of our iMX233-OLinuXino-NANO which now is assembling and iMX233-SJTAG so he could continue with his interesting tutorials🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. petri
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:04:27

    Good tutorial Christian! I’m going to try as soon as possible.
    OT: Dear Olimex: When is OLinuXino-NANO available for purchase to general population? If not yet, are specifications and/or schematics available?

    Reply

  2. chris
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 13:48:43

    Thank you Olimex, I’m still learning on my way to become a Linux hacker and the OLinuXino is a good platform to do it.

    I’m not sure if I need the SJTAG because if I’m successful with my task I can keep the equipment including the SJTAG.

    The iMX233-OLinuXino-NANO is a welcome addition if I find the time to built something bigger with my OLinuXino or beak it somehow.

    I’m not sure how we should handle this, but please wait a bit before sending it to me because I don’t need two SJTAGs. I will let you now if I’m successful in my next blog post or via e-mail.

    Thanks again.
    Christian

    Reply

  3. zoobab
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 23:34:35

    I have urjtag with gpio support under openwrt running on the imx233.

    Any idea if I could use that to reflash another imx233 board? Or SJTAG is special?

    Reply

    • chris
      Aug 30, 2013 @ 15:30:39

      Yes SJTAG is special (proprietary by Freescale) and you need a standard JTAG debugger and Olimex’s adapter if you want to use it.

      But you don’t need to reflash the OLinuXino boards like you would do with smaller microcontrollers, the progarmm is running from the SD card. You only need a SD card reader for your PC and at least a virtual machine running Linux to do real development.

      If you really want it you can even build a new kernel or bootloader directly on your OLinuXino and copy it to the correct location on the SD card and then reboot.

      The SJTAG is useful for debugging if you want to do kernel development (write kernel modules etc.) or modify the bootloader. Basic debugging is also possible via kgdb without the need for a JTAG adapter. And to do application development you can use the same tools like you would use on your Linux desktop.

      And if you want to reflash one OLinuXino board from another one you can do this over the serial line, you only need to write a little script or modify the bootloader.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

