A20-OLinuXino TOOLS for Android released


Image

We are glad to announce that we released A20-OLinuXino-TOOLS app for Android.

A20-TOOLS allow you to test UART, I2C, GPIOs under Android.

When launched it will initialize all these three interfaces and you will see them in three tabs:

Image

Image

after the initialization if you click on I2C tab you will see all available I2C interfaces:

Image

you have to select interface you want to work with then you have three commands: SCAN, READ and WRITE.

Image

Scan will scan for all attached I2C devices on the interface:

Image

on the picture above you can see UEXT module with digital compass is attached to UEXT connector 2 and responds on address 0x1E

you can read the status register 0x0A on this device with Read command:

Image

On GPIO tab you have all GPIOs as seen on connectors you can select GPIO1, GPIO2, GPIO3, GPIO4

Image

for instance if you want to make the LED on board ON you have to make GPIO-3:7 as output and drive it high:

Image

In UART tab first you have to get premissions:

Image

then you can read and write to the UART like you do in any terminal program:

Image

The A20-OLinuXino-TOOLS sources and .apk is on GitHub and are released under GPL licensee.

 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miki
    Nov 02, 2013 @ 10:37:59

    Hallo!
    In my A20(NAND), do not run

    Reply

  2. Trackback: A20-TOOLS | BRG
  3. Trackback: BRG
  4. alex
    Feb 17, 2014 @ 15:26:23

    a20 stopped unfortunatelly…what i can do to work?

    Reply

    • Paul
      Apr 25, 2015 @ 05:07:50

      I’m very disappointed with Olinux product and tech support. I’ve got the same message and can’t get answer how to resolve this problem!
      When I use another program to work with serial ports it tell me that I don’t have permission to UART read/write.

      Reply

  5. pfernandes
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 12:38:26

    Hi, I can’t manage to have gpio working. Screen comes up blank. The UART works fine but I have to manually shell into the A20 and do a chmod on /dev/tty7.
    Do I have to do something similar for GPIO? I tried on /sys/class/gpio/ but no luck.
    If I shell into the unit with adb and manually do the commands

    echo 169 > /sys/class/gpio/export
    echo “out” > /sys/class/gpio/gpio169/direction
    echo 1 > /sys/class/gpio/gpio169/value

    I manage to flash the led.

    Also, is there a quick way to make the chmod persistent?

    Thanks

    Reply

  6. Trackback: A20 Tools for Android « Bir Robotic
  7. Lukkup
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 01:41:41

    Hello!
    I HAVE GOT A PROBLEM WITH THAT.
    It does not run on my board.
    I’ve installed superSu, and the A20-Tools on the android on my board. Then I ran the A20-Tools, and there was a question about permissions. I gave permissions, but the application stopped working. Then every time I am trying to open that application, it runs and stopps immediately.

    logcat:

    Reply

  8. Cristian
    Oct 17, 2014 @ 17:18:55

    Hi!! can i use this tools with the new A20-Lime board?

    Reply

  9. Jarda
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 16:53:04

    Hi

    Then every time I am trying to open that application, it runs and stopps immediately.

    Jarek

    Reply

  10. pallavikelkar
    Nov 23, 2016 @ 09:31:10

    Hello,

    Is there any specific NDK version required? I am trying to build it on Eclipse but getting ” invalid -march= option: `armv5te’ ” error. I am using ndk-r10e.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

