DIY Air Pockets Machine


Image

When dealing with shipping parcels there is one thing which is always not enough – filling material, it should be light to not change the parcel weight, but must in other hand fill all gaps and hold the materials inside the parcel tight to not break during the shipments.

After searching for professional machine for making Air pocket I found that all of them are

  1. expensive
  2. working with special materials which are also expensive

so I start thinking how to make my own air pocket filling machine.

First thing was to find PE sleeve, it was not hard as around Plovdiv there are about 10 different small factories which produce such PE sleeve, they can even print your logo or something else on it as it’s widely used to pack milk, sugar, and so on food products.

The PE sleeve is sold on KG and very cheap, this roll you see above is 6KG but probably long thousand meter and cost me eur 30.

Then I needed PE sealing machine and sourced one from ebay for $40 with free shipping.

The sleeve should be also filled with air so I got one of these small fans used in bathrooms.

So I was ready to test my “machine”.

Image

First cut one stripe of the sleeve around 1 meter and sealed one end with the sealer.

Then put the sleeve on the fan fixing it with rubber ring:

Image

As expected the sleeve got filled with air then all I had to do is to seal some pockets with the selaer. You can see the result:

Image

Not bad result for first try🙂

Now I have unlimited low cost air pocket filler for the parcels we ship.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pyrolysium
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 20:39:13

    Good find. But i’m not ready to order yet. I fact I’ve a question. How fast is the I2C speed in the MOD-TC-mk2. I need 8 of them hooked up on a RaspberryPi to control our Test Pyrolysis furnace. http://pyrolysium.org/category/demonstration-furnace/

    Reply

  2. Stan
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 18:43:45

    Crazy shit – who need this????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

