Prusa i3 the leader among the non professional 3D printers is in stock


CI2A6664

Few months ago I was interested to try how 3D printers work. I googled a bit and I found thousands of variations online.

Even there is site which compare them here: http://www.3ders.org/pricecompare/3dprinters/

As I just wanted to play a bit making frames for our LCDs and Box prototypes for OLinuXino and had no intention to do any production with this printer I wanted to get something as cheap as possible so even if I break it during the assembly to not regret much.

I check all these super duper $140-300 range printers trying to order online and found that all of them are either “out of stock” either “give me the money upfront” and wait XX months until I attempt to produce it either my printer is $300 but shipping to Bulgaria is $400 so none of these was acceptable.

I soon realized most of these sub $300 were just vapour-ware and if you really want to buy something in stock it goes close to $700-800.

Finally I found Jelwek in Poland, which was accepting Paypal, I selected the medium printer they have and cost EUR 475 + shipping to Bulgaria by courier (which I found is normal post later) EUR 25 and ordered one. After about a month the kit arrived by post.

There are lot of documents how to assembly Prusa i3 on the net. For Jelwek this is shown here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/105048182@N02/sets/72157642944311244/

When the kit arrived I was a bit disappointed, the quality of the used parts was a bit low, three of the steppers were second hand, disassembled from old machines which was seen from the scratches and the cable cuts just the one for the extruder was new one.

All rods and shafts were cut by hand with not clean cuts and with lot of whiskers on the edges. Anyway when assembled the printer ran without problems, I already blogged about it here.

Many friends asked me about this printer after I blogged – they wanted also something cheap to start with 3D printing, so I asked our Chinese agent to try to locate low cost Prusa i3 clone and he sent me sample.
The kit arrived and here how it looks:

kit1 kit2 kit3
It’s seen that these kits are done by professional manufacturer – all motors are new and the shafts are directly coupled, you even get tools necessary for the assembly of mechanics like cutters, heat-resistant Kapton tape etc. which I had to supply additionally for the Polish kit I got first. The PCB is also all-in-one with integrated Arduino and drivers on same PCB. There is fan to cool the material exiting the extruder.
So after we inspected everything we decided to stock it, here how it looks assembled:

CI2A6666

Now these kits are in our stock.

Note these are not assembled and require knowledge both in mechanics and electronics to make them work. Sure the final result is worth the efforts, it’s a great pleasure to see something working which you built with your own hands🙂

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kaptan
    Oct 18, 2014 @ 20:17:02

    You say “chinese low cost Prusa i3 clone” but it costs more than the Polish? (480 vs 475).

    Reply

  2. koliqi
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 03:54:54

    Same model with free DHL shipping from http://www.aliexpress.com/item/DHL-Free-Shipping-Aurora-New-Reprap-Prusa-I3-3D-Printer-3-D-Model-Print-DIY-KIT/1889848629.html is priced at US $468.68 , around 366 Euro.

    Reply

  3. Timo
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 12:49:40

    Please check if you Chinese agent can provide low price, good quality Ormerod 2 kit. It is newer and simpler design with more powerfull electronics:
    https://reprappro.com/shop/reprap-kits/ormerod-2-kit/
    or
    http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/3d-printers/8111855/

    Reply

  4. Timo
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 17:08:13

    Ormerod is more expensive in small quatities. If you have to buy whole bar of aluminium profile or laser cut couple of parts for a single printer, it will be expensive. In large quantities it might be different.
    RS-Components sell Ormerod £450 and they are not known for low margins.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: .NET i jiné ... : Odkazy z prohlížeče – 3.11.2014
  6. Lionel
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 04:48:15

    Hello,
    I look for the source code of the firmware of the electronic card Melzi version 2.3 comes with the hardware. I need to calibrate the machine and can not find the firmware code for that version despite my research on the internet.
    Can you help me locate the source code so that I can access the variable parameters that can be stored in EEPROM, this function does not seem to have been activated in the firmware supplied with the machine.
    Advance thank you kindly provide me the firmware or a link to download it.
    Good day and best regards.
    Lionel

    Reply

  7. Curious
    Dec 19, 2015 @ 00:28:19

    Greetings from Poland🙂 I do live near ‘factory’ you got your kit from🙂

    You got disappointed by ‘quality of parts’ of Jelwek but in fact you did not criticized the chineese clone at all.
    IMHO you should compare BOMS of both kits step by step🙂
    Some obvious shortcomings (vs Jelwek) of chineese kit are :
    1)acrylic frame. It looks cooler but it is more fragile, can break easily and over time it stops looking so pretty due to scratches coming from just simple cleaning and use.
    2)melzi vs ramps + arduino. btw. you can try to negotiate board they ship to you with Jelwek, and you can even order board-less kit.

    Those alone make bang for a buck ratio of both kits change, except you just looked for something absolutely cheapest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

