EasyCap – Low Cost USB Video Capture board drivers for A13-OLinuXino


Image

EasyCap is low cost video capture USB dongle based on stk1160 chipset which could be find at low cost from ebay. It allow 1 to 4 cameras to be connected and to implement DVR security survilance on your PC.

Kaloyan Yovchev sent us tested drivers which works with A13-OLinuXIno and kernel 3.0.42+ which we uploaded on GitHub https://github.com/OLIMEX/OLINUXINO/tree/master/SOFTWARE/A13/EASYCAP

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. guillermo
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 15:28:18

    isn’t there any tutorial – how to?
    thanks

    Reply

  2. BJ Freeman
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 02:51:53

    Reply

  3. AcmeUK
    Jan 06, 2014 @ 02:53:30

    A How To would be nice!

    Reply

  4. AcmeUK
    Jan 06, 2014 @ 14:54:19

    Would this driver work with the A10-OLinuXino-LIME?

    Reply

  5. AcmeUK
    Apr 20, 2014 @ 17:14:32

    OK no HowTo forthcoming; so I have tried using this driver build and this is as far as I get!

    I am using this SD image : A13_debian_34_75_WIFI_RALINK_GCC_GPIO_X_I2C_100KHz_UVC_TS_FTDI_video_release_9.7z

    The first problem I hit is that Xachiver cannot open the driver file. It reports ‘Archive format is not recognised’.

    I overcame this hurdle by using 7-Zip on a PC to put the files on a memory stick.

    So I get the files onto my A13-OLinuXino-WIFI and run make which promptly fails with this output:-

    make -C /lib/modules/3.4.75+/build M=/home/olimex/EasyCap modules
    make: *** /lib/modules/3.4.75+/build: No such file or directory. Stop.
    make: *** [all] Error 2

    If I use file manager to inspect /lib/modules/3.4.75+/build I see that it is a symbolic link. So I assume it is pointing to a non-existent file.

    I read somewhere that there is a problem with symlinks in the A13 build.

    I am not a newbie, I have tinkered with Linux for many years. Usually I can find a solution to problems via Google.

    This time I am out of my depth.

    Can anybody tell me what is the next step?

    Thanks

    Reply

  6. scout_3pm
    May 25, 2014 @ 23:43:42

    I have successfully compile stk1160 on linux-sunxi 3.4.67+ for A10-Lime + 4xAV Easycap after patching dma-buf in kernel + cross compiling stripped media_build. All is running OK. I’m going to write a HOWTO soon🙂 As of easycap it is working successfully with no interventions in 3.4.67+ but it can’t switch input channels so you are stuck with AV composite channel 0 on 4channel capture or if you want to capture from s-video on 1channel capture.

    Reply

  7. AcmeUK
    May 26, 2014 @ 01:15:24

    Hi scout_3pm

    I look forward to seeing your HowTo.

    Best wishes

    Reply

  8. scout_3pm
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 12:00:53

    Hi. The HOWTO is on the wiki now. Here’s the direct link:

    https://www.olimex.com/wiki/STK1160-howto-linux-sunxi-3_4 🙂

    Reply

    • AcmeUK
      Jun 07, 2014 @ 11:48:09

      Hi scout_3pm

      I have posted a response 2 days ago, BUT it is not appearing here!

      Best wishes

      Reply

    • AcmeUK
      Jun 16, 2014 @ 19:14:33

      Hi scout_3pm

      I am trying to follow your instructions. I have done the git clone.
      I am a bit mystified by :-

      “While on the device copy the /proc/config.gz to your build machine,
      then use gunzip to extract and you now have your current kernel config. ”

      I assume this the /proc/config.gz in the root of my A13-OLinuXIno Debian image.

      What parameters do I need to pass to gunzip? e.g target dir, etc.

      As I said in earlier post, I have ‘tinkered’ with Linux for a number of years, but not at this level. So please excuse me if this is a bit of a ‘Dumbo’ question.

      Thanks

      Reply

      • AcmeUK
        Jun 17, 2014 @ 17:50:07

        OK. So I do gunzip /proc/config.gz and I get the message ‘No such file or directory’

        If I do -t -v gunzip /proc/config.gz I get a message saying ‘/proc/config.gz OK’.

        If I do -l -v gunzip /proc/config.gz I get a message giving info on compression method (deflate) compression ratio (76.7%) etc.

        So I am targetting the correct file, I can ‘Read All About It’ BUT I cannot extract it. WHY?

  9. scout_3pm
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 23:19:43

    Hi AcmeUK,

    I don’t follow this blog post to often so if you want to contact me please write to me on the forum with Private Message, my nickname there is the same scout_3pm😉

    Reply

  10. Sergio
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 22:49:24

    Dear All,

    I am interested on an image for A10 olinuxino lime board with the stk1160 driver. I have read all your comments, however I do not know a lot about linux and kernel compilation. It seems very difficult for me. Is it possible someone share the final image with stk1160 support for writting it to the microsd card directly?.

    Thank you,

    BR,

    Sergio

    Reply

    • AcmeUK
      Dec 09, 2014 @ 14:05:45

      Hi Sergio
      I gave up on this; life is too short!! You could try a private message to scout_3pm as per his post above.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

